14degrees off the beaten track
home | about | route | blog | photo gallery | vids | gear | FAQ | links | contact | PRESS | 14degrees off the beaten track in Japanese

July 11th, 2007 | categorizilation: all categories,Germany

« Previous Day                                                                                                   Next Day »

Today’s distance / 今日の走行距離: 53.1km
Average speed / 平均速度: 14.1km/h
Time on skateboard / 走行時間: 3h 46m
Total skateboarding distance to date / 今までスケボで走った距離: 53.1km (plus 400km)
Total cycling distance to date / 今まで自転車で走った距離: 11,800km
Ascent / 上り: +330m
Descent / 下り: -330m 

Big thanks to Markus and his parents for looking after me for the last two days. Markus’s mum makes great food! All the best for Markus as he plans his big adventure.

With Markus, leaving GengenBach, Germany

The winds were fair to me today. A steady breeze from the south helped me along the smooth cycle paths from Gengenbach through Offenburg, and ultimately 53km to a small village called Winden, close to Sinzheim. My legs felt steady and relaxed after the two days off – taking it easy for these first few weeks on the board seems to be the way to go.

Today I passed through the following towns:

  • Appenweir
  • Erlach
  • Ulm
  • Mosbach
  • Achern
  • Sasbach
  • Ottersweier
  • Buhl
  • Muhrich
  • Sinzheim

I left Markus’s place at around 11am, and at 12:05 stopped for 10 minutes at a supermarket to buy more alcohol for my stove. I ended up finding Soya Granulate also – the alusive TVP I had been looking for to up the protein value of my meals. At 1.69 Euro for 250g, it was the most reasonable price I have seen in Germany so far.

At last I have found TVP at a reasonable price in Offenburg, Germany

Had a lunch break from 12:30 till 13:30. Lunch was sandwiches (kindly prepared by Markus’s mum – thank you!) and left over oatmeal from breakfast eaten with some banana and strawberry jam (homemade by Markus’s mum).

Looks uncomfortable, but is surprisingly good - taking a rest near Offenburg, Germany

From 15:10 I had another break for 20 minutes, before skating until 17:00 when I stopped for dinner under a cherry tree. I discovered that cherry trees are not a great choice for sitting under at this time of year – birds pecking at the ripe cherries at the top of the tree send soft broken cherries down, falling on clothes, staining them…

I ate and read a book until 18:30, and skated to my kind host’s place to arrive there at 19:45.

My hosts for tonight are the Wallers. Their son was a YFU exchange student, and through the YFU network, I managed to end up staying here tonight. Markus was also a YFU exchange student in the past, and he organised for me to stay here tonight. Kind of a random situation, with the Wallers knowing very little about who I am, but things seem to be working out.

« Previous Day                                                                                                   Next Day »

    Permanent Link     Comments (2)

Comment by Mum — July 13, 2007 @ 3:51 am | post a comment

So what larger city are you headed for? None of these snaller places are marked on my map!

Comment by Aunty Les — July 14, 2007 @ 11:19 pm | post a comment

So skateboarding is harder yaker than biking? It seems you are having more rests than now than you did when biking from A to B!

Leave a comment

* required fields